Intelligent, Stupid – does not matter

The LORD is my Shepherd; I shall not want. – Psalm 23:1

In the last blog, we saw that if the LORD has to be my Shepherd, I must become a sheep.

One of the characteristic traits of a sheep is how it follows its shepherd wherever he goes. I have heard many preachers preach that the sheep are dumb animals that follow the shepherd, and we have to become as dumb as sheep to follow Jesus Christ. And I have read some Christians taking offense with that kind of argument, because 1. sheep are supposed to be very intelligent and 2. it implies that we follow Jesus only because of sheer stupidity.

This is missing the big picture. The big picture is not whether the sheep is stupid or intelligent; the most important point is that the sheep listen to the Shepherd’s voice and follow Him wherever He goes.

Sheep intelligent stupid

Let us say that the sheep are actually very dumb and stupid animals. So what? Their Shepherd is the Omniscient God, Who has the perfect wisdom. As long as they follow their Shepherd, they will not go astray.

Whoever walks the road, although a fool, shall not go astray. – Isaiah 35:8

So, even if I am dumb, even if I am the most stupid person to walk on this earth, it does not matter, as long as I listen to the voice of my Shepherd. I shall not go astray. Jesus Christ, my Shepherd will lead me in path of righteousness, for His Name’s sake. Amen.

Okay, what if the sheep are intelligent and have their mind of own? Still it makes no difference. Because as long as the Shepherd is there, the sheep do not worry about anything. They simply follow their Shepherd. In such a case, they follow Him, not because they are stupid, but because they are intelligent and they know their Shepherd.

I know Whom I have believed. – 2 Timothy 1:12

Yes, I know Him; and not because of my intelligence, but because He is gracious enough to reveal Himself to me. I know Him now and have decided to follow Jesus.

Yes, dear friend, it does not matter where we stand in our IQ level. The world may put different labels on us based on our education, our achievements, our failures and other things. But if we are ready to listen to Jesus and follow Him, then we are His sheep and, yes, we shall not want. Trust in Him always and He shall make our paths straight. Amen.

Proverbs-3.5-6-V3b

2 thoughts on “Intelligent, Stupid – does not matter

  1. Pingback: Am I a sheep or a donkey? | Glorious Ministries Blog

Leave a Reply

